An Inspirational Burger

After a tough few days I decided to cheer my self up by cooking the ultimate dinner. I went to the shops without a plan and after a long time searching the shelf’s for what I fancied and more importantly what I was allowed I came across some M&S Aberdeen Angus, pepper crusted Burgers with that oh so lovely orange gluten free label on the front.  This automatically conjured up images of fluffy white bread rolls so I toddled off to the gluten free section to try my luck. When I got there the shelf was bare so I decided I would settle with the Gluten Free genius bread I already had at home. I picked up some Blue Cheese and then headed off to see what if any relishes I would be able to eat. On my return home I was rather hungry to say the least but decided to take my time and make this the best burger I had ever had.

I grilled the burgers on my George Forman, toasted my white genius bread in the hope it would hold its form with the burger filling, sliced and grilled some red onion, crumbled the blue cheese between the burgers and onions so it melted and went all gooey, stacked it all together and finished it off with some Cipotle and chilli relish. Divine would be an understatement, better than most restaurant burgers and in a different league to McDonald burgers, even if I do say so myself. As sat down eating this little wonder it got me thinking about how much i was appreciating it.   Yes it took me a long time and a lot of disappointment in the supermarket sourcing the ingredients, Yes the bread and burgers cost a small fortune and yes I had to be extra careful when I was preparing it to reduce the risk of cross contamination but had I just walked into the supermarket and been able to pick up the first thing I fancied I am sure it would not have tasted even half as good as this amazing little burger.

I instantly regretted not taking a picture as this burger was the first thing I have genuinely enjoyed in a long time and I know that if I could eat anything I wanted I would have not chosen this and my special burger would not have been born. For the first time in a long time I am looking forward to my gluten free journey and the possibilities to discover new foods and ingredients that I would not normally be open to trying.

2015 is going to be a good year and I wanted to share all my up’s, downs, recipes and reviews with you along the way.

Leave a comment